The Mother-Daughter Tour, part two

Today Mom got the real experience of life-with-Juli, having to accompany me on my 2:45 run. Of course, she didn’t HAVE to come along, but as she loves to say, she has to do a lot of walking to burn off all the extraordinary amounts of food she eats when she’s with me. Which is just super. She did, however, make herself very useful during her walk by taking pictures of the Rail Trail. Food comments forgiven.

After the run and the necessary bathing (and the necessary coffee and snack procuring), we went to this “Clay Festival” that Mom had spotted via a few small roadside signs. Much to my suprise, it was one of the greatest collections of affordable, real-person ceramics I’ve seen here, all community potters getting together to sell their creations as people prepare for the holidays. With its little clutches of people hugging and catching up and its fellowship-hall-style refreshment table, it was definitely the closest I’ve come to feeling the true Santa Fe community. Plus, we bought some beautiful mugs.

Next we drove to the Tesuque Village to eat at the much-talked-about and aptly named Tesuque Village Market. And this is where Mom finally got her guacamole. See, eleven years ago, she and Daddy made a trip to New Mexico, and they stopped at some restaurant where they were doing that table-side guacamole thing. Mom wanted some oh so much, but Daddy doesn’t like guacamole, and she just couldn’t see spending the money just for herself on something she knew she wouldn’t finish. And she regretted it EVER SINCE. So … Santa Fe life lesson: screw the expense, get the guac. And today we did. Plus a frito chili pie and a tamale, all Christmased up. All to share.

Oh, and one more thing. Mom wears these magnetic bracelets for her arthritis. I’ll let her tell you about them. Anyway, they cause her to pick up and drag into the floor many a metal item. Like her silverware.

Next door to the Tesuque Village Market is the best part of the day, the Glenn Green Gallery and Sculpture Garden. Mom spotted this, too, by the way. She’s quite the travel partner. Anyway, we’ve decided galleries are the way to go because unlike museums, they are FREE. So we wandered over to this one after lunch, and oh, OH what magic. It’s this hidden little world of trees (which we know I’m obsessed with, yes) and arroyos and sculptures tucked into every little unexpected crevice and corner.

There’s a stunning building too, the actual gallery, which contains truly the best art – at least to my emotional reaction – I’ve seen in New Mexico. There’s this one piece, a sculpture with the top of the man’s head cut off and hinging open, and inside it’s a prison. There’s a little cot hanging off the wall by chains and a barred-up window and even graffiti scratched in the wall. I so relate to this. If I had 14 million dollars, I would have bought it on the spot, put it in Benji’s trunk and carried that sculpture with me across the country just so I could look at it all the time and think, I feel you, man.  (I only took pictures outside the gallery – except one illicit one of the gorgeous space – and not of the sculpture inside, but LOOK, here’s one on the gallery’s Web site! Click on “Ponder.”). The rest of these are mine …

One of NM's many dry arroyos, but THIS one has a sculpture beside it.

The gallery, like some ultra-amazing cool aunt's New Mexico living room.

Now we’re tired. And by we I really do mean we, because though I ran almost 17 miles today, Mom is “reading” – aka snoring – next to me right now. So … night all. Enjoy the full moon.

2 thoughts on “The Mother-Daughter Tour, part two

  1. Yes, those are my new i-phone’s photos of the rail trail, or at least the first 2.5 miles of it. You see while Juli was running 17 some odd miles, I walked 2.5 one way, taking photos along it, and then turned around and walked 2.5 miles back. It took me from 8:30 to 11:00 a.m. to accomplish this feat. It is a beautiful trail, at least the first 2.5 miles of it. I did miss my treking sticks which are back in Georgia because they wouldn’t fit in my suitcase. I picked up a stick and walked with it but it broke part way, then I found another, but it was too short to do much good and I had to be careful of splinters. Still it was a great walk. I enjoyed the fresh air, the beautiful views and the solitude. The only mishap was my lost hat. It was cold when we started, but I warmed up along the way and stuffed my handknit hat in my much too small pocket. Somewhere along the way back, it must have escaped and by the time I realized it, I was too far up the trail to go back. I decided it would be like Jan Brett’s children’s book, The Mitten, in which a lost mitten becomes the home for first one little mouse, but then progressively stretched to accommodate many little winter creatures, at least until the bear tried to get in. It was consoling to think that some New Mexico creatures might be warm because I lost the hat I knitted on the trail.

    I am very happy to take credit for finding the two great places we went today, but really, I was just reading the signs that Juli drove past, a habit that drives Juli crazy and makes her wonder why it is she was glad to have me come, but this time it paid off for her, so maybe she won’t be so quick to tease me about sign reading in the future. Both the pottery sale and the sculpture garden were wonderful. The sculpture garden owner gave me lots of information to take back to my students about the wonderful artists she represented, so really I should take this trip off on my income tax as a business trip. The food was great and I don’t think my 5 mile walk will even begin to erase the delicious calories I have consumed.

    I was not snoring, I was reading and stuffy. The section I was reading was about guilt by Lisa Scottoline. I admit, I might have been a little bit sleepy because I don’t remember what it said, but it was definitely about guilt, something I am an expert at. So I can reread it, if I need to.

    • Oh Marie, don’t you feel guilty for one second. It is quite obvious where Juli gets her cuteness factor. You are both absolutely adorable. Your hat venture reminds me of one of my favorite books as a kid, Mr. Willoughby’s Christmas Tree. The tree starts off quite grand and then the top gets cut off to go to a family of rabbits and so on and so forth, and then this marvelous tree is shared by Big and Small and all those in-between. Either way, you both embody that quality that we love in people and I can’t wait to see you both in December. Safe Travels to you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

