When I began to suspect my mother isn’t my mother at all

image

In observation of the most crucial of all Thanksgiving traditions, Mom and I are at the movies. We’re seeing “Tangled,” mostly because there’s a very narrow selection of mutually agreeable movies. And what I’m really saying is that Mom will only see happy movies … usually. She did, however, see Harry Potter 7.1 with me, which proves that she loves me even though she clearly cannot share my DNA. And here’s why (besides the fact that she doesn’t love Harry Potter): this particular theater serves Lavazza espresso and when offered it, Mother said NO. She didn’t want coffee. At all. That’s when I turned to her and said, Were you a surrogate? And the poor concession stand kid, Jacob, he had no idea what to do.

This movie fun follows the morning run and then a trip to IHOP. This is what becomes necessary when you have no kitchen. Good pancakes though, no kidding. Weak coffee. Which is why I and all other sane people needed a redo. Except my surrogate Mom.

Dinner update later … hope y’all are having a wonderful Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “When I began to suspect my mother isn’t my mother at all

  1. Ihop coffee was fine and you get a whole pot. Morning walk was so cold my fingers couldn’t make my iPhone change to camera mode until I blew on them. The movie was very good and there is nothing wrong with leaving a movie feeling happy instead of depressed, especially at the prices they charge for movies these days! I am excited about our dinner which is yet to come. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

