Suprisingly Tasty

In an effort to console the sadness over my ice-storm canceled trip to Montgomery, and because Mom asked me to, I baked cookies. Mom was in an inspired baking mood. She shoveled snow for two hours (the entire time I ran plus some. She’s a badass, as I’ve mentioned previously.) and celebrated by baking these perfect loaves of whole wheat bread.

She’s always been a wonderful baker, my mom. This is because she excels at precision. And like her artistic ability, I also did not inherit her precision skills. So when she asked me to bake oatmeal cookies, and I couldn’t find a recipe that satisfied me, I just made one up. And wonder of wonders, they’re actually good! I wanted them to be whole and wholesome without tasting like a granola bar. So I cut out some flour and butter and sugar, added some applesauce and a little ground flax seed and switched to whole wheat flour altogether. Here’s the recipe:

White Chocolate Pecan Oatmeal Cookies

1/2 cup butter

1/4 cup applesauce

1 cup brown sugar (I used Splenda brown sugar mix to make these a little more acceptable for Dad, who will eat them regardless, but you certainly don’t have to.)

1/2 cup Egg Beaters

2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 cups thick rolled oats, not instant

1 1/2 TB flax seed meal

sea salt to taste (I used about 2 tsp … 1 1/2 tsp with a tiny bit sprinkled on top of each cookie.)

1/2 cup chopped pecans

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Mix butter, applesauce, brown sugar, Egg Beaters and vanilla until smooth. Throw in everything else except the white chocolate and pecans (or whatever you decide to use in their place). Mix in the chips and nuts last. Don’t take this process too seriously. Don’t even measure if you don’t feel like it. Be free with your cookies, and they will love you.

See?

Enjoy the rest of your snow and ice, where ever you are. It seems everyone has some. And Alabama, I’ll be seeing you soon. Really, I will. Maybe I’ll even bring you cookies.

One thought on “Suprisingly Tasty

  1. Alabama, insist on those cookies! They are delicious. And maybe I’ll taste test them one more time, just to be sure. Quality control, you know.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

