A lovely town, no pundits in sight

When the lovely people at the Cape Girardeau Convention and Visitors Bureau asked me to visit for a quick research trip, it took about seven seconds on the Internet to discover that this charming little Mississippi River town that raised Rush Limbaugh. Now for some of my readers (Daddy), I know there could be no better recommendation for a place, but others of you might take a different view. So I am here to tell you, forget politics. Cape Girardeau is a sweet little town.

I was so busy seeing sports facilities, since that was my function on this trip, that I now have a list of several additional things I must return to experience. Chief among them, the city’s 10 miles of trails that connect the parks throughout town and the hundreds of little coffee shops/wine bars/antique stores in downtown Cape Girardeau. I might even try a round of golf, ’cause they have one HECK of a golf course in this town.

Dalhousie Golf Course, where I was given the best golf cart tour in the whole of the world. No kidding. I hear there's a castle, too ... somewhere. (Photo courtesy of Dalhousie Golf Club)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

