Lemon oatmeal cookies of the imagination

These cookies are of the imagination because, well … I made them up. And if you know anything about my baking past, you’ll realize that this is not necessarily a good thing. But here’s the thing … I had this giant plastic container, sent to me at Valentine’s Day by my dear friend Carol (of the famed ButBars), full of these ridiculously brilliant gingerbread sandwich cookies. I mean, it WAS full of them. A LONG time ago. And shortly after I emptied said container of said cookies, I declared I would bake something to refill said container and send it back. A wonderful idea! That took me two months to complete.

Anyway, I was determined, that’s all I’m saying. I was finally going to follow through with this baking scheme, and I was going to do it in time for the ButBar children’s birthdays. But here’s the other thing about Carol’s cookies: they’re always delicious. I mean stupid delicious. But they’re also always whole grain and half sugar and shiny with health-inducing characteristics of all sorts. So I was feeling the pressure. Carol, for the record, would be delighted with any sort of cookie and appreciates all kinds of deliciousness. This pressure is all in my head. Shocker.

But I only have my head and the stuff that’s in it, so I proceeded to invent lemon oatmeal cookies, with applesauce replacing most of the fat and whole wheat flour replacing the all purpose and only half the sugar of a regular oatmeal cookie recipe. I basically just mixed until the batter tasted good. That was my master plan. Trial and error is pretty much my life strategy anyway, so I figured, why not use it to bake?

I baked and baked, and then, just as I took the cookie sheet out of the oven, at the precise moment when ALL cookies taste their IRRESISTIBLE best, I drizzled one with frosting and presented my new creation to my mother. And she said …

Maybe you should make peanut butter cookies too. You know, just in case.

Just in case WHAT, Mom?

Well, probably the ButBars are just being nice to me, but they got their birthday package and they claim to love their cookies. They’ve even asked for the recipe, which why I’m posting it.

Lemon Oatmeal Cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1 c old fashioned rolled oats

1 c whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1/2 tsp salt

1 c turbinado sugar (or other raw, brown sugar)

Mix all of these ingredients. This is a highly technical recipe. Pay attention.

1/2 c unsweetened apple sauce

1 egg

1 lemon, juice and zest

1/4 c skim milk

1 tbs olive oil

All of this goes into the dry ingredients, mix until just combined. Tray up your cookies and bake for 8 minutes. They should be not quite done when you take them out. While they bake, make the icing:

1/3 c skim milk

1 c powdered sugar

Vanilla extract

When the cookies come out of the oven, drizzle each with a little icing, then – and this is the important part, no kidding – sprinkle each cookie with a tiny bit of sea salt and put the cookies back in the oven to bake for two more minutes.

I don’t really have any idea if this step is important. But Mom DID like the cookies better after this adjustment, and the ButBars claim to be happy, so it must be the salt and the post-bake. It must be.

Enjoy …

Tasting the batter. Isn't that the key strategy of all great bakers?

The icing. I think it would be great with lemon juice in it as well. Or LIMONCELLO.

Ice, salt, rebake.

Birthday cookies, ready to go. (I sent presents too, just so you know.)




Read More http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/recipe/2069467/2#ixzz1JAoEtbeg
5 thoughts on “Lemon oatmeal cookies of the imagination

  1. I am one of the elder ButBars and we really were that happy and they really were great and I’ve written the recipe down! Part of the charm was their deliberate shape – they were lovely little scoops, like from a melon baller, like eating the bite-sized tops of ice cream cones only they were little lemon morsels with oatmeal. I hope you get to try them. Or, better yet, I hope somebody makes them for you!

  2. “One of the elder ButBars.” You’re adorable. Here’s the secret to the deliberate shape – laziness! You could also called it efficiency. 🙂 I scoop them out with a mini ice cream scoop. It makes the cookie shaping process so much easier and faster. Some cookies bake out flat so you don’t get the ice cream shape, but I’m really not sure how to make that happen. I think it might have something to do with butter. Which means these cookies will never, ever be flat.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

