A Mother’s Day Conversation

I went back to 28-2 today for my long run, and Mom went along. You know, so that they would know where to find the body if I disappear. After the run, we sat by the creek eating Larabars and (me) drinking obscene amounts of water, and we discussed the new memory book she’s reading.

Mom: I saw three cars while you were running. And you know, I’m reading this new memory book, so that I can remember where I put my keys. I memorized the cars’ license plates for practice.

Me: In case they killed me …?

Mom makes the not-a-funny-joke face.

Me: Okay, fine. What was the last one?

Mom (proudly): It was AB 8269.

Me: So how did you remember it?

Mom: Well, AB, that’s obvious. And 8 plus 2 is 10 …

Me: (??)

Mom: … and  69, that was easy.

Me: (nearly choking on my water)

Mom: Why are you laughing? It’s two years after my anniversary.

Me: THAT’S what you think of when you see the number 69?

Mom: Is that wrong?

So that’s my mom. She’s pretty much the definition of awesome.

She made this dress. My favorite ever. Such a favorite, in fact, that I chose it for kindergarten picture day.

This is her idea of a sand castle.

THIS is HER mom.

She takes pictures like this everywhere we go – even Versailles – because “isn’t that texture wonderful??”

She protects me from terrifying photographers.

She is totally accustomed to and patient with my habit of (kind of) lying all over the people I love.

And isn’t she beautiful?

I love you, Mom. Happy Mother’s Day.

6 thoughts on “A Mother’s Day Conversation

  1. Happy Mother’s Day Marie!!
    Yes, your mom is awesome and very very funny, and cute too. I love those photos. Absolute treasures.
    xo-mo

  2. And Juli forgot to mention the things she does for me, like the wonderful breakfast and dinner she prepared for Mother’s day. Delicious! Thanks, Jules!

  3. Marie – you are awesome! I saw in the board briefs that you have decided to retire this year!!!!! That is so awesome! Mom has absolutely loved her retired life! I am sure you will too! Jeannine

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

