Thanksgiving

Wow. Parents. They really will go a LONG way to teach you a lesson. Like Daddy having surgery right before Thanksgiving just to illustrate how grateful we’d all be when it made it through. I GET IT, Daddy. I’m thankful. Geez.

Kidding, people. I’m kidding. Daddy is doing well, though. He just zoomed past me with his little walker, and, friends, he’s even wearing PANTS! This is exciting because it means his range of motion has improved, but also because he no longer has to wear the “hospital gowns” Mom fashioned out of old sheets. I would have taken pictures because truly, you would be amused, but the man deserves a little privacy. A smidge.

Since Mom is now a full-time nurse (I help when I can, but there are some tasks more appropriate to a wife), I volunteered to cook the Thanksgiving dinner this year. It was my first-ever turkey, so I was delighted when no one got food poisoning. See, my family demands that their turkey be stuffed, which is, as we all know, a treacherous cooking tactic.

I woke up at 6:30 am because that’s when you have to put the turkey in the oven if you want to eat by lunchtime. Standing in the kitchen in my pajamas, gripping my coffee cup and staring woozily at the giant raw bird, I came very close to chickening out on the stuffing. But Daddy loves it, so I told myself, SUCK IT UP, PATTY, and I just did it. And ta-DA! No one was hospitalized.  I have yet another thing to be thankful for.

I’m also thankful for old trucks. They make me happy. I have no explanation for this. Here’s my current favorite:

And FINALLY, Harry’s Farmer’s Market (and perhaps all Whole Foods, since they own Harry’s) is now carrying my favorite yogurt in the whole universe. If you’ve been around since last year, you might remember my ravings about Noosa when I discovered it at the Whole Foods in Santa Fe. It’s brilliant stuff. I’m not kidding. You will simply not understand how good Noosa yogurt is until you taste it. Go buy some. And then say thank you.

 

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. For my part I am thankful for all of the above and for a daughter who created the best thanksgiving meal I have ever eaten and a son who baked the best rolls ever! I will never have to worry about being the main chef responsible for Patty family feasts ever again. My children are master chefs.

    I am also thankful for all the extra things they have done to make their daddy’s recovery go as well as can be expected. The head scratching alone would have been worth a million to her daddy, but in addition to that and innumerable other things, Juli and Benji have probably put on an extra 500 miles of going to get stuff that we didn’t know we needed until we needed it. Brad came over before surgery to help with things around the house that might cause his dad to worry.

    What a blessing children are. I love you guys! Thanks, MOM

  2. Ya’ll are welcome for the rolls, and the rest of it; just let me know if there’s anything else you need. Looking forward to Christmas.

    The turkey was great, Juli. It all was.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

