Christmas cookies

I’ve been baking a LOT. This is not such a good thing because I haven’t been sleeping a lot and I tend to believe at 4 AM that I should eat the things I spent my day baking. On the positive side, I’ve been shipping most of the goodies away to others. I’ll have to keep that up or someone’s going to need to lock me up at night. Or the treats. Whichever.

With the exception of the Bastatdized Buckeyes below, I HAVE been attempting to healthify most of my treats by reducing the sugar and replacing at least half the regular flour with whole wheat, but if you’re looking for actual healthier recipes, I’ve been using a lot of the Christmas Cookie ideas here. The Date Nut Tassies went to the ButBars. Those were really good (if you ask Carol, they were the greatest cookie EVER in the HISTORY OF THE WORLD, but that’s just why she’s so much fun to bake for).

I also made these skinny sugar cookies. I ate most of those, I’m sorry to tell you, but I did let my sweet Daddy have a few (he thinks they are the best cookies he’s ever had) since he’s healing and all. He’s doing MUCH better, by the way. Cookies have immense healing powers and so do daughters.

And finally, I bastardized the traditional buckeye recipe. I thought it needed a little salty, crunchy kick, so I added crushed crackers. Here’s how it went:

Bastardized Buckeyes

1 cup of Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips

Melt these in a double boiler – or a glass bowl set over a pot of simmering water – while you mix together the remaining ingredients.

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup reduced fat cream cheese

2 TB butter

1 sleeve Club crackers, crushed (I used reduced fat because that’s what we had, and that’s what I was trying to eliminate from our pantry, evil things that they are.)

After your mix all that sweet peanut butter goodness together, roll them into balls, dip each ball into the melted chocolate and put it on some parchment paper to cool.

Merry Christmas, y’all.

3 thoughts on “Christmas cookies

  1. All were just as delicious as Carol and Gary said, and I am not recuperating from anything. In fact, I have been eating these goodies for breakfast, lunch, and dinner instead of protein, veggies, and fruit. Who is going to lock me up? Or the goodies? I did ziplock some of the cookies up since unzipping the bag is one more step before stuffing them in your mouth without thinking and it slows me down a little. When they are out cooling on the counter, they are impossible to resist. YUM, what a baker my daughter has become!!

  2. Will you please just move in and be my roommate again? Pretty please? I look forward to our baking fest this Saturday. I will be perusing all of your recipe suggestions.
    Marie, I completely agree. Juli’s baking is very hard to resist. And I do believe that the unzipping of ziplock bags must burn at least 5 calories per zip. ; )

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

