Baking merit badge

I’m working on my citizenship deficiencies, but I DO actually have a strong card or two in my hand as a participant in human culture. One of them is baking. Not because I’m good at it, but because I do it AND I give it away. This is sort of a backhanded goodness for which I deserve mostly no credit, since I bake things expressly so that I can eat one or two and then give the rest away. I’m happy. Others become happy. I don’t see a down side.

So tonight I’m practicing my good kitchen citizenship by inventing a cookie. It’s basically a snickerdoodle but without the cinnamon-sugar. Instead, I threw in a bunch of dried cranberries and cherries, some lime juice and zest and lime glaze on top. Why am I doing this at 10 PM on Saturday? Well, I leave on Monday for a business trip. Tomorrow I will be cooking for the Super Bowl, and so tonight I absolutely had to make something to put in a package to send to my ButBars. I have to return a book to them, and while a package containing a book is pretty lovely all on its own, if you can put cookies in that package as well, you really ought to.

Iced Berry Lime Cookies. Or Coolers Maybe.  (Coolers? I don’t know … what makes a cookie a cooler? It just popped into my head.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1/2 c butter, melted

1  1/2 cup Whey Low Granular

1/2 cup Egg Beaters

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

2 tsp cream of tartar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 teaspoon vanilla sea salt (or regular … I just had some that I’d made at Christmas)

1/2 cup dried berries

juice and zest of one lime

Glaze

juice of one lime

dash of vanilla sea salt

1 cup powdered sugar

3 TB skim milk (or more, depending on how juicy your lime was … you want the icing to be thinner than toothpaste, but not runny. Because that’s just a gross word to describe icing.)

Pretty much I just mixed the first three ingredients until blended, dumped all the rest in at once and mixed everything together. I used my trusty mini ice cream scoop to drop (way too many of) them out on parchment paper. I baked them for 10 minutes, during which they formed one GIANT cookie. And really, who wants just one tiny cookie when you can have a GIANT one? I think you see my point. Besides, my baking merit badge is for EFFORT. Not expertise.

One thought on “Baking merit badge

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

