Just another morning in Jackson

image

I go out every morning, coffee in hand (obviously), to walk the dogs, and this is the backdrop. It’s amazing to me that a person be lucky enough to see these mountains every day while doing everyday tasks. I know it’s the sort if awe that fades when you actually DO see this every day, but I can’t imagine it.

In other news, you may our may not know that I despise banana things-banana bread and whatnot- but as others do not share this opinion and banana bread seems (sort of) wholesome for those healing from surgery, I baked some killer salted caramel banana bread yesterday. It’s easy – you just need a big cast iron skillet. Put a half cup of brown sugar, a few tablespoons of water, a half teaspoon of salt and a couple of tablespoons of butter in there. Simmer that until it reduces a bit and gets sticky. Slice two bananas in half and toss them in the caramel. Take it off the heat and pour banana bread batter of whatever kind you like (Joe prefers the full sugar-white flour only variety; normally I would rebel, but I’m being nice. For now.) on top. Bake at 350 degrees until cooked through and golden.

Even I thought it tasted pretty fantastic. Except for the the bananas. Blech.

4 thoughts on “Just another morning in Jackson

  1. I had no idea that you didn’t like bananas, but the banana bread sounds delish! But what I’m most jealous of is the cup of coffee in hand (3 more days) and the walking of the dogs in that GORGEOUS setting. Wow!! I can totally see why you want to move there.
    Hope Joe is healing nicely. Make sure you don’t take care of him so well that he doesn’t want to get better. ; )

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

